“Jeremiah’s Terrible, No Good, Very Bad Day”

jeremiah-alexander-day2aAlexander is a storybook character where nothing goes right in his world. Mother assures him that no matter where you are there will always be such days. That is where we find Jeremiah. He is having an Alexander Day and it is terrible, no good and very bad.

“I wish I never was born; Lord you know how I suffer; everyone treats me with contempt. I am all alone and have not one friend. Oh, woe is me!”  It was just at that moment God came and said:  ‘You must repent of such words and thoughts!’  for  “anxiety in a person’s heart weighs him down, but an encouraging word brings him joy.” [Pro 12:25]

And so he listened and it was then that God’s “words came to me, I drank them in and they filled my heart with joy and happiness.” The Spirit of God touched him and he heard God say: “I will make you strong as a wall to these people…they will not be able to overcome you; I will be with you to rescue you and deliver you.” God was his encourager and he lifted him from the miry clay of despair.

We all at times have an Alexander/Jeremiah day but if we read and meditate upon the Word of God we will find that it is the Balm of Gilead to our souls. It is then that the joy of our salvation begins its healing process.

Beloved, are you having a terrible, no good; very bad Alexander/Jeremiah day? Be encouraged, God has heard your plea and He is saying: repent of such words! I am your joy and I will be your deliverer.

 

One thought on ““Jeremiah’s Terrible, No Good, Very Bad Day”

  1. It is when I read words like that – I am convicted. Anytime one reads the Word of God ~ or has God speak to them, should make your heart feel blessed. Though I do empathise with the struggle this fallen world gives us… God has reached out and touched us with His Word, which speaks to our hearts because He is alive and real and true… We can praise our God for hearing us, knowing our hearts, and walking us through the messiness.

    Like

Would love to have you reply ! Tell me what you think.

